page top


Home / About Us / History

Attention: open in a new window. Print

South West Slopes Credit Union has a long and proud history in the local community spanning four decades, three generations and countless country miles. Please read on and enjoy a brief summary of our history to date as we continue to look to the future for more opportunities to serve our members.

Request a Call Call (02) 6384 1111

1972 – June 29th

The first meeting of the Board of Directors occurred. The Board represented seventy-eight foundation members, all employees of the Boorowa, Burrangong, Demondrille, Murrumburrah and Young Shire Councils and employees of the South West Slopes County Council.


Membership had now grown by an average of 7 members per month to 144 to the end of the financial year. One hundred and eleven loans were granted in the first year of operation.


Mr Pat O’Leary was appointed the first Secretary/Manager. Operations moved from the South West Slopes County Council building to Mr O’Leary’s residence at 20 Spring Street Young.


SWSCU moved to leased commercial premises at 183 Boorowa Street, Young.


Mr Laurie Rentoule was then appointed by the Board as Secretary/Manager. Membership was also opened to residents of the towns of Young, Boorowa, Harden and Cootamundra and the Weddin, Yass and Bland shires.


Mrs Fay Anderson was appointed as the Board’s first female Director becoming Chair in 1994.


SWSCU moved to leased commercial premises at 102 Boorowa Street, Young. This sparked a period of tremendous growth for the Credit Union and proved a wise strategic move.


In order to accommodate the continuing growth in business and staff, the premises at 89 Boorowa Street, Young was purchased from the State Bank of NSW where the Young Branch remains today.


A branch in Cootamundra was then opened in commercially leased premises at 224 Parker Street, marking a new era as the Credit Union began to look to ongoing expansion in the region


SWSCU purchased 268 Parker Street, Cootamundra where the Branch remains today.


Mr Steve Elsley was appointed by the Board as Secretary / Manager.


A branch in Temora and an Agency in Ungarie were acquired from the Snowy Mountains Credit Union.


A Branch in West Wyalong was opened in leased premises at 147 Main Street, West Wyalong completing our current branch contingent.


South West Slopes Credit Union has branches in Young, Cootamundra, Temora and West Wyalong, all with ATM’s, plus Agencies in Boorowa and Harden. We have approximately 15,000 members, employ 39 local staff with approximately $100 million under management. Our capital now exceeds $11.5 million and the Credit Union has become a key element of the local economy.

One thing that hasn’t changed is our commitment to our members, to mutuality and the communities we live in. South West Slopes Credit Union remains true to providing the best banking alternative by being

  Additional Information:





Go local with SWSCU







Multi Currency Cash Passport


Learn More







Learn More